First nationwide recognition honoring individual high school football teams for excellence in the classroom; Nominations forms to go out this week.

In February, the National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced a partnership with state high school coaches associations from nine states, with Nebraska and Texas leading the initial effort, to create the NFF National High School Academic Excellence Awards. The awards represent the first nationwide recognition honoring individual high school football teams for excellence in the classroom. Since the initial announcement, 23 other state high school coaches associations have joined the partnership resulting in 32 states that will take part in the inaugural awards.

“Academic and athletic success go hand-in-hand,” said NFF Chairman Archie Manning. “We are proud to partner with these 30 high school coaches associations on this award, and our goal is to eventually reach all 50 states in the future. We hope by inspiring teams to compete in the classroom with the same competitive spirit that it takes to win on the field we will better prepare high school football players for success later in life.”

“Texas is excited to partner with the National Football Foundation in an effort to recognize team academic excellence,” said Joe Martin, the Executive Director of the Texas High School Coaches Association. “This unique, national award recognizes High School Football teams that have excelled in academics during this football season. Not only does the game of football teach life lessons, but the teams receiving this award are proving they can compete in the classroom as well as on the gridiron.”

The 32 participating state high school coaches associations include Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Washington and Wisconsin.

The awards will recognize the top academic team winner from each level of play in each state as well as one overall national winner.


THSCA has provided links to download the nomination form, all forms MUST be submitted back to THSCA staff by January 14, 2022. (Please be aware there are a few attachments that must be submitted along with your nomination form. See last paeg of nomination form for specifics.) The state and national winners will be announced in January and February, respectively by the National Football Foundation.

For more information on the NFF National High School Academic Excellence Awards or to learn how your state high school coaches association can participate, please contact the NFF at